The Gibraltar Philatelic Bureau Ltd on behalf of the Royal Gibraltar Post Office is the company responsible for the design, printing, production, marketing and sale of Gibraltar stamps worldwide. Gibraltar stamps have been issued since 1886 and are considered to be highly collectible by the worldwide philatelic fraternity. Many thousands of collectors in over 60 countries collect Gibraltar stamps and orders are placed either by mail (GPBL Ltd, PO Box 5662, 9/3 Cooperage Lane, GX11 1AA, Gibraltar), fax (+350 20042149), telephone (+350 20075662), email ( or through their website

On average the Gibraltar Philatelic Bureau Ltd handles over 15,000 orders per year making it one of the biggest exporters of local Gibraltar products. Thanks to a great team of hard working and experienced professionals, collecting Gibraltar stamps continues to be a popular and educational hobby.

The first Gibraltar commemorative issue was released in 1935. The release of such issues were confined up to 1966 to Crown Agents ‘Omnibus’ issues and marked events of international interest. Since 1966 subjects of a predominantly local flavour have been chosen though international events are also featured.

Gibraltar Stamps have therefore been issued during five different reigns:

Queen Victoria 1886-1901

King Edward VII 1901-1910

King George V 1910-1936

King George VI 1936-1952

Queen Elizabeth II 1953-present

Today the Gibraltar Philatelic Bureau Ltd continues to adopt a conservative stamp issuing policy thus maintaining its high reputation amongst the philatelic fraternity